Jan. 26, 2022

HARRISBURG – Reps. Abby Major (R-Armstrong/Indiana/Butler) and Donna Oberlander (R-Clarion/Armstrong/Forest) today joined their colleagues in the House to support legislation to send federal COVID-19 funding to hospitals and frontline health care workers, including $920,113 to Armstrong County Memorial Hospital.

“The pandemic has caused great strain to all parts of society,” Major said. “Our health care workers especially have shouldered an enormous burden. While this money will never repay them for all their work, I hope it will provide some encouragement and help stem the tide of those leaving the profession.”

“This investment in our hospitals and frontline personnel provides a critical lifeline to help ensure our residents can access quality health care, whatever their particular needs may be,” Oberlander said.

House Bill 253 would allocate a total of $225 million to hospitals and their employees. More specifically, the legislation would send:

• $100 million to acute care general hospitals.
• $110 million to critical access hospitals, facilities with a high volume of Medicaid patients, and behavioral/psychiatric providers of inpatient services.
• $15 million to the PA Student Loan Relief for Nurses Program.

The legislation would require the funding to be directed to retention and recruitment programs for staff. Hospital executives and administration, contracted staff and physicians would not be eligible for payments under the bill. The funding would only be directed to nurses and other hospital employees.

In the near future, both chambers also have committed to passing legislation to direct $25 million to EMS and fire companies. The governor has voiced support for both bills.

House Bill 253 has been sent to the governor for his consideration.

The 60th Legislative District includes Bethel, Boggs, Burrell, Cadogan, East Franklin,
Gilpin, Kiskiminetas, Kittanning, Manor, North Buffalo, Rayburn, South Bend, South Buffalo, Valley and West Franklin townships and the boroughs of Applewold, Ford City, Ford Cliff, Freeport, Kittanning, Manorville, North Apollo, West Kittanning and Worthington in Armstrong County; Buffalo and Winfield townships in Butler County and Blacklick, Conemaugh and Young townships in Indiana County.

The 63rd Legislative District includes all of Clarion County and the Armstrong County communities of Bradys Bend, Cowanshannock, Hovey, Madison, Mahoning, Perry, Pine, Plumcreek, Redbank, Sugarcreek, Washington and Wayne townships and Atwood, Dayton, Elderton, Rural Valley and South Bethlehem boroughs, as well as Parker City, along with Jenks and Barnett townships in Forest County.

Representative Abby Major
60th District
Representative Donna Oberlander
63rd District
Pennsylvania House of Representatives

Media Contact: Tracy Polovick
RepAbbyMajor.com / Facebook.com/RepAbbyMajor
RepOberlander.com / Facebook.com/RepOberlander